Friday, October 12, 2012

La Norevége, eh? La Norvége!

The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided that the Nobel Peace Prize for 2012 is to be awarded to the European Union (EU). "The union and its forerunners have for over six decades contributed to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe" says the Noble Committee.

The Annoncement: Link Nobel Peace Prize

"The stabilizing part played by European Union has helped to transform a once-torn Europe from a continent of war to a contingent of peace." - Nobel committee chairman Thorbjørn Jagland.

José Manuel Barroso, head of the European commission: 

"At its origins, the European Union brought together nations emerging from the ruins of devastating world wars – which originated on this continent – and united them in a project for peace".

German Chancellor Angela Merkel:  a "wonderful decision".

Helmut Kohl: "The Nobel Peace Prize for the EU is above all a confirmation of the European peace project".

French President Francois Hollande: "immense honor".

U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton: "Certainly it is quite remarkable to see how unified and peaceful Europe is in the 21st Century, and that did not happen by coincidence. It happened because of the very hard work and dedication of leaders and citizens across Europe.

German Finance Minister Wolfgang Schäuble said: " The award of the Nobel Prize of Peace to the European Union reminds us that the EU i endlessly more than (interest-rate) spreads and bailot funds."

Norway has twice voted "no" to joining the EU, in 1972 and 1994.

No comments:

Post a Comment